Things I Want My Daughter to Know

Just another WordPress.com site

You Are Much Stronger Than You Think You Are January 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — rlginny @ 3:58 am

Dear Baby Girl,

I want you to know you are so much stronger than you think you are.

Now I’m not talking physical strength, the kind of strength that lets you lift and pull and throw and such. You might be stronger than people give you credit for, but I mean emotionally and in what you can handle.

I don’t know if it’s a female thing, or just a Lanier / Comer / Peek female thing, but the women in our family (you included) are very strong and can weather a lot. We have to be. We’ve all gone through a lot in our lives.

Trust me — there are going to be times you think you can’t do it any more. There are going to be times you want to give up. There are going to be times when you don’t think you can handle it, you don’t think you’re going to make it and you’re going to want it all to end. You aren’t going to think you can go on another day.

You’ll be wrong. When you get there, sit down and tell yourself “Okay, I can make it through another TV show”. Or another chapter. Or another page. Or, sometimes, just another breath. And then again. And again. And those small segments will turn into minutes, and hours, and before you know it, you’ve made it through the day. And you can do it all over again until things are looking better.

Because things WILL get better. I cannot promise everything will be okay. I cannot promise things will be perfect. I cannot promise life won’t suck sometimes. But I can promise that, when it does, it will get better, sometime. You just have to believe it and keep going. You will make it through. You CAN do it.

You can always make it one more breath.

Love,

Mommy

 

Leave a Reply

