Things I Want My Daughter to Know

Just another WordPress.com site

I Will Love You Always January 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — rlginny @ 7:56 pm

Dear Baby Girl,

I want you to know I will always, always, no matter what, love you.

Now, this is probably the most important letter I will ever write to you, so I want you to pay close attention and really understand it.

Right now, you are a toddler. You are in the middle of your terrible twos, even though you haven’t reached the age yet. (You started early. That will likely be a trend in your life.) You don’t like to sleep. One of your favorite words is “No”. Your favorite sound some days is your own voice. Whining.

Mommy doesn’t do whining well. At all. Sometimes I get very frustrated and have to take deep breaths. Sometimes I have to take a break. Sometimes I do lose it and fuss at or yell at you and, for that, I am extremely sorry.

But none of this means I don’t love you. I do. Very much. Even when you manage to grate on my nerves.

I know you don’t do it on purpose. You’re a toddler and it comes with the age. But there will come a day in the future when you will push Mommy’s buttons on purpose, just because you can and just to see what happens. I may yell at you or fuss at you and you might be in trouble.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t love you.

There will come a time when you will be making your own decisions. I may not always agree with them. Sometimes, your decisions will have consequences and sometimes you will get in trouble and be punished.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t love you.

There will come a time when you will want to do something, or many somethings, and I will say no. This doesn’t mean I don’t love you. There will come a time when you will do whatever it is you want to do anyway and you will get in trouble. This doesn’t mean I don’t love you.

There will come a time you probably won’t like me very much. I’m prepared to hear you say you hate me time and time again.

But I will still love you.

You will make mistakes in your life. That is okay; everyone makes mistakes. You might come clean right away and ask me to help you fix it. You might hide it from me and just make it worse. But at some point, I will find out and you will have to deal with whatever consequences those mistakes may bring.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t love you.

You will make many decisions in your life and, sometimes, I might not agree with them. That does not necessarily mean they are wrong. And even if you make a decision I might not have made, I will love you and support you anyway because you are my Baby Girl and I am your Mommy. Supporting your decisions is kind of in my job description.

You may make bad choices. You may make decisions you look back on years later, or even moments later, and regret. It is possible, though I hope it never happens, that you might decide you don’t like yourself that much and you need to make some changes.

Through all of it, I will love you.

I want you to read this next sentence very carefully, and read it as many times as necessary until you believe it and the meaning really sinks in:

There is absolutely nothing in this world you can do or say that will ever, ever make me stop loving you, no matter what.

You are my baby. I want you to be happy and make good decisions and have a wonderful life. But the world doesn’t always work that way and there might be some rough times. Just remember that I do and always will love you.

And when you need to be upset and need to be mad? Come to me. Yell at me. Scream at me. I will know that you are just mad and, when you are done, I will hug you and love you anyway.

I’m your Mommy. It’s my job.

Love,
Mommy

 

One Response to “I Will Love You Always”

  1. Harriet Kersey Says:

    Val, I may have to stop reading your blog posts. (just kidding, of course) If I keep it up, though, I will most likely need a new keyboard because of the tears that fall as I read. You are a beautiful young woman, and those kiddos are fortunate to have you as their mommy.


Leave a Reply

